New Year's Concert

New Year's Concert 2021 with Riccardo Muti

Zoom New Year's Concert 2018 with Riccardo Muti © Terry Linke

The 2021 Vienna Philharmonic New Year's Concert takes place on January 1, 2021, under the baton of Riccardo Muti in the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in Vienna. After 1993, 1997, 2000, 2004, and 2018, this year's concert will mark the 6th time that Riccardo Muti, whose close musical partnership with the Vienna Philharmonic has now extended nearly 50 years, conducts this prestigious concert event.

The 2021 New Year's Concert will be broadcast in over 90 countries and followed by millions of television viewers around the world. The 2021 New Year's Concert will take place without an audience.

The Programme of the New Year's Concert 2021

Important Information for Ticket Holders

Due to ongoing high rates of infection, the Austrian Federal Government has decided that no concerts may be performed before audiences until January 6, 2021. Unfortunately, this also affects the Preview Performance on December 30, 2020, at 11 AM; the New Year's Eve Concert on December 31, 2020, at 7:30 PM; and the New Year's Concert on January 1, 2021, at 11:15 AM. We will therefore be refunding all paid tickets and kindly ask you to contact us in this matter by e-mail.

New Year's Concert 2021 with Riccardo Muti

Fri, January 1, 2021
Musikverein, Golden Hall, Vienna, Austria

CONDUCTOR: Riccardo Muti

PROGRAMME: Franz von Suppè, Johann Strauß Jr., Josef Strauß, Carl Zeller, Carl Millöcker, Karl Komzák, Johann Strauß Sr.

Riccardo Muti

Over the course of his extraordinary career, Riccardo Muti has conducted the most important orchestras in the world: from the Berlin Philharmonic to the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, from the New York Philharmonic to the Orchestre National de France, as well as the Vienna Philharmonic, an orchestra to which he is linked by particularly close and important ties, and with which he has appeared in Vienna, Salzburg and around the world since 1971. In September 2010, Riccardo Muti became Music Director of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Zoom Riccardo Muti © Terry Linke
  • Riccardo Muti and the Vienna Philharmonic

    The nearly 50-year artistic partnership between Riccardo Muti and the Vienna Philharmonic has produced countless musical highlights. It is not only the astounding number of approximately 550 concerts, but also the exceptional quality of these performances that lends Maestro Muti special significance in the history of the Vienna Philharmonic. Muti prepares himself for his concerts with intensive research and places emphasis on many details that give him a profound knowledge of the specific Vienna Philharmonic sound. This special bond is reflected by the fact that Riccardo Muti was awarded Honorary Membership in the Vienna Philharmonic in Salzburg upon his 70th birthday in 2011. He conducted the prestigious and extremely famous New Year’s Concert in Vienna five times, in 1993, 1997, 2000, 2004 and 2018. In 2021 the continuous collaboration between Riccardo Muti and the Vienna Philharmonic will reach 51 years.

  • Social Conscience

    Riccardo Muti’s social and civic conscience as an artist is demonstrated by his concerts performed in places symbolizing our troubled past and contemporary history, which he has conducted as part of “Le vie dell’Amicizia” (The Paths of Friendship) project, produced by the Ravenna Festival since 1997 to the present day in many of the world’s most problematic areas.

  • Youth

    In 2004 he founded the Luigi Cherubini Youth Orchestra. In July 2015 Riccardo Muti set up a further scheme for training young musicians, when the first “Riccardo Muti Italian Opera Academy” for young conductors, répétiteurs and singers attracted participants from all over the world to the Teatro Alighieri in Ravenna, and later in Tokyo. The aim of the academy is to pass on to young musicians Muti’s experience and mastery and to familiarize audiences with the complex process that goes into performing opera.

    The focus of the first Academy was the opera Falstaff, while in the next years Maestro chose to work on La Traviata (in Ravenna and Seoul - 2016), Aida (2017), Macbeth (2018), Le nozze di Figaro (2019), Rigoletto for the first Italian Opera Academy in Tokyo in March 2019, Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci (2020).

  • Awards

    Muti has received innumerable international honors over the course of his career. He is Cavaliere di Gran Croce of the Italian Republic, Officer of the French Legion of Honor, and a recipient of the German Verdienstkreuz. He was made an honorary Knight Commander of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II in Britain. The Salzburg Mozarteum awarded him its silver medal for his contribution to Mozart’s music, and in Vienna he was elected an Honorary Member of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, the Vienna Hofmusikkapelle and the Vienna State Opera. He has additionally been awarded the Russian Order of Friendship and Israel’s Wolf Prize for the Arts. In 2011 Muti not only received the coveted Birgit Nilsson Prize, the Prince of Asturias Prize for the Arts and an Opera News Award, he was also appointed an honorary member of the Vienna Philharmonic and honorary director for life of the Rome Opera. In 2012 he was awarded the highest papal honour when Pope Benedict XVI appointed him a Knight of the Grand Cross First Class of the Order of St Gregory the Great. In 2016 he was honoured by the Japanese government with the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star. In October 2018, Muti received the prestigious Praemium Imperiale for Music of the Japan Arts Association in Tokyo. He has received more than 20 honorary degrees from the most important universities in the world.

For more information on Riccardo Muti visit: www.riccardomuti.com

Philharmonic Version of the Radetzky March

Johann Strauß' Radetzky March, op. 228, was first performed in a Vienna Philharmonic New Year's Concert on January 1, 1946. Josef Krips was the conductor, and according to a note in the Vienna Philharmonic archives, the march was performed before the Blue Danube Waltz as a first encore.

read more

Floral Decorations by Vienna Parks and Gardens

When Riccardo Muti raises his baton for the New Year's Concert on January 1, 2021, it will mark the sixth time that he has conducted this prestigious concert. The partnership between the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna City Gardens for the floral arrangements throughout the Golden Hall of the Vienna Musikverein, has been in place since 2015.

Once again this year, to the delight of television viewers around the world, the Vienna City Gardens, along with the Austrian gardeners and florists, will produce the arrangements which light up the Golden Hall in a resplendent sea of blossoming floral color.

Ticket Information for the New Year's Concert

Due to extremely high demand, tickets for the three traditional end of year concerts of the Vienna Philharmonic are drawn by lot over this website at the beginning of each year.

Neujahrskonzert

Neujahrskonzert 2021 mit Riccardo Muti

Vergrößern Neujahrskonzert 2018 mit Riccardo Muti © Terry Linke

Am 1. Jänner 2021 findet das Neujahrskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Riccardo Muti im Wiener Musikverein statt. Riccardo Muti, dessen enge musikalische Zusammenarbeit mit den Wiener Philharmonikern bereits Jahrzehnte umspannt, dirigiert nach 1993, 1997, 2000, 2004 und 2018 zum sechsten Mal dieses prestigeträchtige Konzertereignis.

Das Neujahrskonzert 2021 wird in über 90 Länder weltweit übertragen und von Millionen TV-Zusehern verfolgt. Das Neujahrskonzert 2021 findet ohne Saalpublikum statt.

Das Programm des Neujahrskonzerts 2021

Wichtige Information für Kartenbesitzer

Aufgrund der weiterhin hohen Infektionszahlen hat die österreichische Bundesregierung entschieden, dass bis 6. Jänner 2021 keine Konzerte vor Publikum stattfinden dürfen. Dies betrifft leider auch die Voraufführung am 30. Dezember 2020 um 11.00 Uhr, das Silvesterkonzert am 31. Dezember 2020 um 19.30 Uhr sowie das Neujahrskonzert am 1. Jänner 2021 um 11.15. Aus diesem Grund werden bereits bezahlte Karten rückerstattet. Hierzu bitten wir Sie, uns per E-Mail zu kontaktieren.

Neujahrskonzert 2021 mit Riccardo Muti

Fr., 1. Jänner 2021, 11.15 Uhr
Musikverein, Großer Saal, Wien, Österreich

DIRIGENT: Riccardo Muti

PROGRAMM: Franz von Suppè, Johann Strauß Jr., Josef Strauß, Carl Zeller, Carl Millöcker, Karl Komzák, Johann Strauß Sr.

Riccardo Muti

Im Verlaufe seiner außerordentlichen Karriere hat Riccardo Muti die prominentesten Orchester der Welt wie die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, das New York Philharmonic Orchestra und das Orchestre National de France dirigiert. Zu den Wiener Philharmonikern besteht ein besonderes Nahverhältnis. Seit 1971 dirigiert Muti die Philharmoniker in Wien, Salzburg und auf der ganzen Welt. Im September 2010 wurde Riccardo Muti Music Director des Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Vergrößern Riccardo Muti © Terry Linke
  • Riccardo Muti und die Wiener Philharmoniker

    Im August 1971 begann bei den Salzburger Festspielen die außergewöhnliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Wiener Philharmonikern und dem am 28. Juli 1941 in Neapel geborenen Dirigenten Riccardo Muti. Nicht nur die erstaunliche Zahl von rund 550 gemeinsamen Konzerten, sondern auch die besondere Qualität der Aufführungen verleiht Maestro Muti einen besonderen Stellenwert in der Geschichte der Wiener Philharmoniker. Muti bereitet sich durch ein intensives Quellenstudium auf die Konzerte vor und legt Wert auf viele Details, die ihn zu einem profunden Kenner des spezifischen Klanges der Wiener Philharmoniker machen. Diese Verbundenheit spiegelt sich auch in der Tatsache wider, dass Riccardo Muti 2011 an seinem 70. Geburtstag in Salzburg zum Ehrenmitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker ernannt wurde. Er stand fünf Mal am Pult des prestigereichen Neujahrskonzertes in den Jahren 1993, 1997, 2000, 2004 und 2018. Im Jahr 2021 geht die kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit von Riccardo Muti mit den Wiener Philharmonikern in ihr 51. Jahr.

  • Soziales Bewusstsein

    Das soziale Bewusstsein des Künstlers Riccardo Muti drückt sich in Konzerten aus, die im Rahmen des Ravenna-Festival Projekts „Le vie dell'Amicizia“ (Die Pfade der Freundschaft) seit 1997 bis heute an Orte stattfinden, die unsere turbulente Vergangenheit und Zeitgeschichte symbolisieren.

  • Jugendarbeit

    2004 gründete Riccardo Muti das Luigi Cherubini Jugendorchester. Im Juli 2015 rief Riccardo Muti ein weiteres Projekt zur Ausbildung junger Musiker ins Leben: Die erste „Riccardo Muti Italian Opera Academy“ für junge Dirigenten, Korrepetitoren und Sänger fand mit Teilnehmern aus der ganzen Welt im Teatro Alighieri in Ravenna und später in Tokyo statt. Ziel der Akademie ist es, Mutis Erfahrungen und Meisterschaft an junge Musiker weiterzugeben und dem Publikum die komplexe Entstehung einer Opernproduktion zu vermitteln. 

    Der Schwerpunkt der ersten Academy lag auf der Oper Falstaff, in den Folgejahren standen am Programm: La Traviata (in Ravenna und Seoul - 2016), Aida (2017), Macbeth (2018), Le nozze di Figaro (2019), Rigoletto für die erste Italian Opera Academy in Tokyo im März 2019, Cavalleria rusticana und Pagliacci (2020).

  • Ehrungen

    Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Riccardo Muti unzählige internationale Auszeichnungen erhalten. Er ist Cavaliere di Gran Croce der Italienischen Republik, Offizier der französischen Ehrenlegion, sowie Träger des Verdienstkreuzes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Von Königin Elisabeth II. wurde Muti zum „Honorary Knight Commander“ des „Order of the British Empire“ ernannt. Für seinen Beitrag zur Mozart-Pflege verlieh ihm das Salzburger Mozarteum die Silbermedaille, und in Wien wurde er zum Ehrenmitglied der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, der Wiener Hofmusikkapelle und der Wiener Staatsoper genannt.  In Russland wurde ihm der Orden der Freundschaft und in Israel der Wolf-Preis in der Kunst verliehen. 2011 wurde Muti nicht nur mit dem renommierten Birgit-Nilsson-Preis, dem Prinz-von-Asturien-Preis für die Künste und dem Opera News Award ausgezeichnet, sondern auch zum Ehrenmitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker und zum Ehrendirektor auf Lebenszeit des Teatro dell’Opera in Rom ernannt. 2012 erhielt er die höchste päpstliche Ehrung, als er von Papst Benedikt XVI. zum Großkreuz-Ritter I. Klasse des Gregoriusordens ernannt wurde. 2016 ehrte ihn die japanische Regierung mit dem Orden der aufgehenden Sonne in Gold und Silber. Im Oktober 2018 wurde Riccardo Muti für sein Lebenswerk mit dem renommierten Praemium Imperiale for Music of the Japan Arts Association in Tokio ausgezeichnet. Er hat mehr als 20 Ehrendoktorwürden von den wichtigsten Universitäten der Welt erhalten.

Weitere Informationen zu Riccardo Muti finden Sie unter: www.riccardomuti.com

Die philharmonische Fassung des Radetzky-Marsches

Im Neujahrskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker erklang der Radetzky-Marsch, op. 228 von Johann Strauß erstmals am 1. Jänner 1946. Josef Krips dirigierte ihn damals, einem Vermerk im Archiv der Wiener Philharmoniker zufolge, vor dem Donauwalzer als erste Zugabe.

weiterlesen

Blumenschmuck von den Wiener Stadtgärten

Wenn Riccardo Muti am 1. Jänner 2021 den Auftakt zum Neujahrskonzert gibt, wird es das sechste Mal, dass er dieses prestigeträchtige Konzert dirigiert. Die Kooperation der Wiener Philharmoniker mit den Wiener Stadtgärten zur floralen Gestaltung des Musikvereins besteht seit 2015. Gemeinsam mit den österreichischen Gärtnern und Floristen werden heuer wieder die Wiener Stadtgärten den Goldenen Saal im Musikverein in einem Blütenmeer erstrahlen lassen.

Für die alljährliche Blütenpracht im Goldenen Saal bedarf es viel an Erfahrung und Fachkenntnis. Die Arbeit der Meister-Floristinnen und Meister-Floristen startet bereits am 27. Dezember, damit rechtzeitig alles bereit ist für dieses weltweite Kulturereignis.

Karteninformation zum Neujahrskonzert

Wegen der großen Nachfrage nach Kaufkarten für die traditionellen Konzerte zum Jahreswechsel werden diese Karten zu Jahresbeginn ausschließlich über die Website der Wiener Philharmoniker verlost.