October 2, 2011

Awards for Several Members of the Vienna Philharmonic

On August 9, 2011, Salzburgs Provincial Governor Mag. Gabi Burgstaller presented awards "for outstanding public or private services rendered to the Province of Salzburg" to numerous members of the Vienna Philharmonic. Bernhard Biberauer, Professor George Fritthum, Bruno Hartl, Professor Gerhard Iberer, Alexander Steinberger and Johann Ströcker were presented with the Medal of Service to the Province of Salzburg, while Dr. Clemens Hellsberg was presented with the Honorary Medal of the Province of Salzburg.

These presentations occurred during a ceremony in the Large Festival Hall in the presence of Dr. Helga Rabl-Stadler and Artistic Director Markus Hinterhäuser. The musical backdrop for the event was provided by members of the Vienna Philharmonic and their musical associates, with Alexander Steinberger, Dominik Hellsberg, Robert Bauerstatter, Gerhard Iberer, Benedikt Hellsberg (Violoncello, class of Cäcilie Ottensamer), Michael Bladerer, Hans Peter Schuh, Reinhold Ambros and Stefan Haimel playing compositions by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Zoltán Kodály and Leroy Anderson.