Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

S 1
M 2
T 3
W 4
T 5
F 6
S 7
S 8
M 9
T 10
W 11
T 12
F 13
S 14
S 15
M 16
T 17
W 18
T 19
F 20
S 21
S 22
M 23
T 24
W 25
T 26
M 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Wed, 31. December 2008



New Year's Concert 2010 under Georges Prêtre

Georges Prêtre

The Vienna Philharmonic New Year's Concert 2010 will be conducted for the second time by the French conductor Georges Prêtre.  Philharmonic Chairman Clemens Hellsberg stated that the decision was made "in recognition of our many years of collaboration and Prêtre's extensive experience with this genre." The success of Prêtre's debut at the New Year's Concert 2008 "was for both conductor and orchestra very gratifying."

Georges Prêtre has been honored several times for his artistic achievements in his home country and also in Austria. In 2004 he was named a Commander of the French Foreign Legion and in the same year was awarded the Austrian Honorary Cross for Science and the Arts, 1st Class.

Since 1987 the conductors of the New Year's Concert have alternated yearly. Herbert von Karajan conducted in 1987, followed by Claudio Abbado (1988 and 1991), Carlos Kleiber (1989 and 1992), Zubin Mehta (1990, 1995, 1998, 2007), Riccardo Muti (1993, 1997, 2000, 2004), Lorin Maazel (1994, 1996, 1999, 2005), Seiji Ozawa (2002), Nikolaus Harnoncourt (2001, 2003), Mariss Jansons (2006), Georges Prêtre (2008) and  Daniel Barenboim (2009). In 2010 Prêtre returns to the podium of the New Year's Concert for the second time.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC