Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 2
W 3
T 4
F 5
S 6
S 7
M 8
T 9
W 10
M 15
W 17
F 19
S 20
S 21
M 22
T 23
W 24
T 25
F 26
S 28
M 29
T 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Nachrichten 2009

Thu, 19. February 2009



Award for Mariss Jansons

On February 12, 2009, Mariss Jansons was awarded the Austrian Honorary Medal of Science and the Arts by Federal Minister Dr. Claudia Schmied. The musical backdrop for the ceremony, at which Dr. Thomas Angyan delivered the message of tribute, was provided by members of the Vienna Philharmonic . Our orchestra has enjoyed a close association since 1992 with the Latvian conductor, who studied in the class of Hans Swarowsky at the Vienna Music Academy. Xavier de Maistre, Wolfgang Schulz and Franz Bartolomey performed Joseph Haydn's Trio for Piano, Flute and Cello in G Major, Hob. XV:15, composed around 1790; the Adagio cantabile from Haydn's Symphony in D Major, Hob. 1:13 composed in 1763, in an arrangement by Janos Starker; and the Presto from Maurice Ravel's Sonatina for Flute, Cello and Piano, with Xavier de Maistre playing the unaltered piano part on the harp.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC