Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 1
F 2
S 4
M 5
T 6
W 7
T 8
F 9
S 10
S 11
M 12
T 13
W 14
T 15
F 16
M 19
W 21
T 22
M 26

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Nachrichten 2009

Mon, 28. September 2009



Final Tour Concert and First Subscription Concerts of the Vienna Philharmonic under Tugan Sokhiev

© Patrice Nin

Due to unforeseen personal circumstances, it has become necessary for Zubin Mehta to cancel three conducting appearances with the Vienna Philharmonic. These concerts include the final tour concert on September 29th in Seoul and the opening subscription concerts in Vienna on October 3rd and 4th. Tugan Sokhiev, the 32 year old Music Director of the Orchestre Nationale du Capitole de Toulouse, has agreed at short notice to take over the direction of these concerts.

In Vienna he will conduct the 12th London Symphony of Joseph Haydn in place of Webern's Pasacaglia. The concert programs remain otherwise unchanged. These appearances on the part of Tugan Sokhiev, have been made possible by kind permission of the Mariinsky Theater in St. Petersburg, which has released him from a prior conducting obligation on October 3rd.

For further information on Tugan Sokhiev, please click here.

Dates and Times
September 29, 2009, 8:00 PM
Seoul, Seoul Arts Center

Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
Sumi Jo, Soprano

Joseph Haydn: Symphony D major, Hob. I:104, "12th London Symphony"
Johann Strauß: From the Opera "Die Fledermaus": "Mein Herr Marquis"
Giuseppe Verdi: From the Opera "La Traviata": "É strano" and "Sempre libera"
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4, E minor, op. 98


October 3, 2009, 3:30 PM
October 4, 2009, 11:00 AM
Vienna, Musikverein, Großer Saal
Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev

Ildikó Raimondi, Soprano
Elisabeth Kulman, Alto
Adrian Eröd, Bass
Singverein der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien

Joseph Haydn: Symphony D major, Hob. I:104, "12th London Symphony"
Erich Zeisl: The 92nd Psalm - Requiem Ebraico
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4, E minor, op. 98



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC