Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 2
W 3
T 4
F 5
S 6
S 7
M 8
T 9
W 10
M 15
W 17
F 19
S 20
S 21
M 22
T 23
W 24
T 25
F 26
S 28
M 29
T 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Mon, 16. November 2009



Two Chamber Music Concerts in New York

On March 2, 2008, at the request of the Austrian UN Ambassador Dr. Gerhard Pfanzelter in New York, an ensemble composed of members of the Vienna Philharmonic gave a concert at the United Nations to add a cultural dimension to the diplomatic efforts in obtaining a seat for Austria in the Security Council. Following the success of this endeavour and because this month Austria occupies the chairmanship on this board, Ambassador Dr. Thomas Mayr-Harting invited us for an additional chamber music concert in the "Neuen Galerie" in New York on November 4, 2009. Dieter Flury, Albena Danailova (concertmaster of the Vienna State Opera Orchestra), Clemens Hellsberg, Tobias Lea and Robert Nagy performed works exclusively by the "Wiener Klassiker". Compositions by Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven were chosen, whereby the variation movement from Josef Haydn's "Emperor Qartet", provided a thought provoking and effective conclusion.     

One day later, the same musicians from our orchestra performed again in Zankel Hall, the chamber music auditorium in Carnegie Hall, for our thirteenth benefit concert on behalf of the American Austrian Association in New York. On the program of the concert to benefit the foundation's Open Medical Institute, by which more than 7,000 doctors from eastern block countries, Asia and Africa have received assistance in their medical education from their medical colleagues in the United States and Austria, works by Josef Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Saverio Mercadante, Richard Strauss and Béla Bartók were performed.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC