Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 2
W 3
T 4
F 5
S 6
S 7
M 8
T 9
W 10
M 15
W 17
F 19
S 20
S 21
M 22
T 23
W 24
T 25
F 26
S 28
M 29
T 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Tue, 17. February 2009



Mozart Week Salzburg 2009

As part of the 54th Mozart Week of the International Mozarteum Foundation, the Vienna Philharmonic performed three times between January 24 and 31 in the Large Festival Hall in Salzburg. All three programs featured not only works of Mozart, but also of Joseph Haydn, who died in 1809 in Vienna, making this his commemorative year. On January 24, Albena Danailova (Concertmaster of the Vienna State Opera Orchestra), Tamás Varga, Harald Hörth and Michael Werba, performed Joseph Haydn's Sinfonia concertante for Violin, Viola, Oboe, Clarinet and Orchestra in B-flat Major, Hob. I :105, with Seiji Ozawa conducting. The rest of the evening was dedicated to the Salzburg genius alone, with Mitsuko Uchida as soloist for Mozart's Piano Concerto in C Major, KV 467, including a cadenza which she had composed herself, and the "Prague" Symphony in D Major, KV 504, concluding the evening's performance.

On January 28, Nicolaus Harnoncourt opened the concert's program with Mozart's Symphony in B-flat Major, KV 319, and the dedicated the rest of the evening to Joseph Haydn, with the Cantata for Soprano and Orchestra "Berenice, che fai", Hob. XXIVa:10, and the Mass in B-flat Major, Hob. XXII:14 ("Harmony Mass"). The vocal soloists were Annette Dasch (Soprano), Bernarda Fink (Alto), Werner Güra (Tenor), Florian Boesch (Bass) as well as the Arnold Schoenberg Chorus (Artistic Director: Erwin Ortner).

The Mozart Week's third Philharmonic concert was conducted by Sir Simon Rattle and took place on January 31. Following Haydn's Symphony in G Major, Hob. 1:88,  the Rückert-Lieder by Gustav Mahler were heard, as well as Sir Charles Mackerras's reconstituted early version of the aria "Non tardar, amato bene", KV 492/28 from Mozart's "Le nozze di Figaro", sung by Magdalena Kožená (Soprano). These were followed by the "Danses sacrées et profanes" by Claude Debussy, with Xavier de Maistre as soloist. The concert concluded with Mozart's "Great" Symphony in G Minor, KV 550.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC