Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 2
W 3
T 4
F 5
S 6
S 7
M 8
T 9
W 10
M 15
W 17
F 19
S 20
S 21
M 22
T 23
W 24
T 25
F 26
S 28
M 29
T 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Thu, 30. April 2009



Vienna Philharmonic Sommernachtskonzert Schönbrunn 2009

Sommernachtskonzert Schönbrunn 2008

As many as 100,000 listeners attended the Vienna Philharmonic Sommernachtskonzert Schönbrunn, which took place on June 4, 2009 in the unique ambience of the grounds of Schönbrunn Palace. The free open air concert was conducted by Daniel Barenboim, who also conducted the New Year's Concert 2009. The program of the concert, which had as its theme the "Night", featured the following compositions:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade G Major, KV 525, "Eine kleine Nachtmusik"
Manuel de Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
Modest Mussorgsky: A Night on Bald Mountain
Johann Strauss II: A Thousand and One Nights, Waltz, op. 346

The concert was broadcast live or time delayed in over 60 countries.

With this free concert in a public place in Vienna the orchestra pursues a specific cultural policy objective by attempting to make classical music accessible to a broad spectrum of listeners and establish a following beyond its usual core audience. Clemens Hellsberg, Chairman of the Vienna Philharmonic says: "The beautiful location, the special flair of an open air concert and the free admission appeal to a large audience. With this concert we are hoping to attract to classical music those people who otherwise do not have much opportunity to come in contact with it." The size of the audiences indicate that the public responds to this idea. Despite inclement weather, some 60,000 people attended last year's concert.

Additional information on the website of the Sommernachtskonzert Schönbrunn



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC