Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 1
F 2
S 4
M 5
T 6
W 7
T 8
F 9
S 10
S 11
M 12
T 13
W 14
T 15
F 16
M 19
W 21
T 22
M 26

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Aktivitäten 2010

Tue, 12. January 2010



The Book with Seven Seals under Nikolaus Harnoncourt

The "Dream of Gerontius" was followed a few days later by another monumental choral composition: Franz Schmidt's oratorio, "The Book with Seven Seals", which constituted the program for the 1st Philharmonic Soirée, two concerts for the Society of Friends of Music and a concert in Linz on December 17, 19,  20, and 21, 2009. Under the baton of Nikolaus Harnoncourt, the vocal soloists were Michael Schade (Tenor - John) and Robert Holl (Bass - Voice of the Lord), as well as Dorothea Röschmann (Soprano), Elisabeth Kulman (Alto) Werner Güra (Tenor), Florian Boesch (Bass) and the Chorus of the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna prepared by Johannes Prinz. This is the same chorus which performed the oratorio at its world premiere on June 15, 1938. The virtuoso organ part was performed by Robert Kovács. With this series, which Nikolaus Harnoncourt had requested upon the occasion of his 80th birthday, the Vienna Philharmonic has now performed this major composition of Franz Schmidt, who was a member of the Vienna Philharmonic cello section between 1896 and 1911, thirteen times.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC