Log in


Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 1
W 2
F 4
M 7
T 8
W 9
T 10
F 11
S 12
M 14
T 15
W 16
T 17
S 19
S 20
M 21
T 22
W 23
M 28
T 29
W 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Mon, 16. May 2011



In Memory of the Victims of the Catastrophe in Japan

Daniel Barenboim and the Vienna Philharmonic performed the Adagio from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Concerto in A major, KV 488, at the beginning of the subscription concerts on March 19/20, 2011, in memory of the victims of the catastrophe in Japan.

Since the orchestra's first tour there in 1956, Japan has been our home in the Far East. The enthusiasm of Japanese music lovers for our orchestra and for its style of playing and history is counted among our most memorable experiences. We feel a very close bond with the people of Japan, where we have performed 257 concerts in the course of 28 tours, and where we have been shown so much affinity. Together with our esteemed friend, Daniel Barenboim, we remember the victims, their loved ones, and all of those individuals who now fear for their lives as well as their future and that of their children.

We are deeply shaken by the fate of the Japanese people, and we join worldwide efforts to, at least partially, alleviate the unimaginable suffering. Most of all, we wish to express, through our thoughts and prayers, that in spirit we are with the people of Japan, a people to whom the Vienna Philharmonic is greatly indebted.



© 2020 Wiener Philharmoniker RD00155D582B92

Media Partners of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra