Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 1
F 2
S 4
M 5
T 6
W 7
T 8
F 9
S 10
S 11
M 12
T 13
W 14
T 15
F 16
M 19
W 21
T 22
M 26

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Nachrichten 2012

Fri, 17. February 2012



Fifth Concert of the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Music Series

On January 14, 2012, the fifth concert of the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Music Series in the Vienna State Opera was held. The "Brueghel Ensemble", made up of Dieter Flury, René Staar, Tamás Varga and Stefan Gottfried (harpsichord) first played the third movement from Johann Sebastian Bach's  Sonata in G major, BWV 1039, in memory of Gunter Voglmayr and Herbert Linke, orchestra members who had passed away three and two days earlier.

The first piece on the program was Georg Philipp Telemann's Paris Quartet No. 9 for flute, violin, cello and bass continuo in G major, TWV 43:G4. Two solo pieces for solo flute followed, Olivier Messiaen's "Fauvette de jardin" (The Garden Warbler), and "Ainava ar putniem" (Landscape with Birds) by the Latvian composer, Peteris Vasks, who was born in 1946. After the Sonata for Cello by György Ligeti and  the Sonata in D major for flute, violin and basso continuo by Jean-Mair Leclair, two solo pieces were performed: the Halbthurn Capriccioso "per Roberto" for solo violin by René Staar and György Ligeti's "Continuum" for harpsichord.

The conclusion of the official program was the Trio Sonata for Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo in C minor, BWV 1079/8, from the "Musical Offering" by Johann Sebastian Bach. The encore consisted of an additional movement from this contrapuntal masterpiece of the choir director of Leipzig's St. Thomas Church, "Canone perpetuo" for Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo, BWV 1079/9, and "Distrait", the fifth movement from Telemann's Sixth Paris Quartet in E minor, TWV 43:e4.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC