Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

S 1
M 2
S 7
M 9
T 10
W 11
T 12
F 13
S 15
M 16
T 17
W 18
T 19
T 24
W 25
T 26
F 27
S 29
M 30

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Thu, 29. March 2012



Sixth Concert of the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Music Series

At the sixth concert of the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Music Series in the Vienna State Opera on February 19, 2012, the ensemble "PhiliTango" (Nobert Täubl, Erich Schagerl, Thomas Hajek, Stefan Gartmayer, Wolfgang Gürtler and Klaus Laczika, piano) presented a diverse program beginning with Jaques Offenbach's overture to "Orpheus in the Underworld". The Intermezzo from Pietro Mascagni's opera "Cavalleria rusticana" was followed by the world premiere of a concert waltz composed for this occasion by Oliver Peter Graber (*1971), with the pianist, Prof. Dr. Kalus Laczika, making way for the composer himself to perform the piano part. Following a tribute to French music ("Meditation" from the opera "Thais" by Jules Massenet and "Pièce en forme de Habanera" by Maurice Ravel) the first half of the program was concluded with Johannes Brahms' Hungarian Dance No. 5 in G minor and the fast polka "Éljen a Magyar", op. 332, by Johann Strauss.

After the intermission, two tangos were listed next on the program: "Jalousie" (a piece that up until now has appeared in over one hundred films, among them "Death on the Nile"), by the Danish composer Jacob Thune and "El choclo" by Ángel G. Villoldo, the Argentine guitarist and composer who is considered to be the pioneer of the tango. This was followed by three world famous "hits": the Serenata by Enrico Toselli; the "Sabel Dance" from the ballet "Gayane" of Aram Khachaturian; and the "Salut d' amour" by Edward Elgar. The official program was concluded with two arrangements of traditional klezmer melodies: "Nigh" and "Jidl mint Fidl". For the first encore, Randy Randolph's "Saxoburger" was performed by Erich Schagerl - who has provided numerous arrangements - on the saxophone. Additional encores were "Por una cabeza", a tango by Carlos Gardel, and Johann Strauss' fast polka "Leichtes Blut", op. 319.



© 2019 Wiener Philharmoniker RD00155D581F71

Media Partners of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra