Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Mon, 16. March 2015

Prof. Reinhard Öhlberger



Concert Tour with Daniele Gatti

During the 2012/13 season, the Vienna Philharmonic performed a cycle of the symphonic works of Johannes Brahms with Daniele Gatti. This collaborative thematical endeavour took place once again in February 2015. On the day following the 2nd Soirée, the program of the Symphony No. 3 in F major, op. 90 and the Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68, was repeated in the Vienna Konzerthaus.

Following rehearsals in Vienna for the Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 73 and the Symphony No. 4 in E minor, op. 96, two concerts featuring these compositions were given on February 15th and 16th  in Athens. As has been customary in prior years, the concerts took place in Megaron tis Mousikis, the modern concert hall at the foot of the Lykabettos. The encores on February 15th were the Scherzo from the stage music from "A Misdummer Night's Dream" by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy and on February 16th the Prelude to Act III of "Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg" by Richard Wagner.

Following a short stop in Vienna, the orchestral tour continued on to Hamburg on February 22nd where the Symphonies Nos. 1 and 4 were performed in the Laeiszhalle. Following this, two performances were given in the Philharmonie am Gasteig in Munich, where on February, 23rd the Symphonies Nos. 3 and 1 were played and on February 24th, Nos. 2  and 4. The encores in Munich  were the same which had been performed in Athens.

The next day, on February 25th, the orchestra traveled across the Atlantic to the USA for the 26th annual "Vienna Philharmonic Week" at Carnegie Hall in New York City, where the traditional  three concerts were performed which featured the cycle of the complete Brahms symphonies and, in addition, Brahms' Deutsche Requiem, op. 45. This latter concert included Diana Damrau (soprano) and Christian Gerhaher (baritone) along with the local Westminster Choir.



© 2019 Wiener Philharmoniker RD00155D581F71

Media Partners of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra