Log in

Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

T 1
M 5
W 7
F 9
S 11
M 12
T 13
W 14
T 15
F 16
S 17
S 18
M 19
T 20
W 21
T 22
S 25
M 26
T 27
W 28
T 29
F 30
S 31

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Nachrichten 2012

Wed, 18. April 2012



Benefit Concert for the Family of Georg Straka

On March 24, 2012, a special concert was given in the Gustav Mahler Hall of the Vienna State Opera. Professor Günter Seifert, the artistic director of the chamber music cycle at the opera, organized a benefit concert in commemoration of a recent tragedy in the 170-year history of the Vienna Philharmonic. To benefit the family of the orchestra's contrabass player Georg Straka, who fell to his death on Mount Fuji on November 3, 2010, a matinee performance was given by numerous orchestral members along with many guests. This concert opened with the Overture from Johann Sebastian Bach's Suite for Orchestra, No. 2, BWV 1067, featuring Wolfgang Breinschmid, flute, and Kotono Brilinsky, cembalo. Ödön Rácz and Kotono Brilinsky then performed the Fantasy for Contrabass and Piano based on motives from "Lucia di Lammermoor" by Giovanni Bottesini. Norbert Ernst (tenor) then sang Franz Schubert's "An die Musik", D 547, accompanied by the Vienna Violin Quartet. This quartet  then performed the Artists' Ball Dances, op. 94, by Johann Strauss, Sr. and the "Regata-Galopp", op. 134, by Joseph Lanner. The "Circus Bassissimus", which is the first Austria's first contrabass quartet, of which Georg Straka had been a member since 1991, performed works by Georg Straka (Pippi Langstrumpf Variations), Gabriel Fauré (Après un rêve, arranged by Georg Straka) and Cole Porter (I've Got You Under My Skin). A composition for four violins and piano, "Tarantella", by the former Philharmonic subscription concert conductor and orchestra chairman, Joseph Hellmesberger, Jr., was performed by Rainer Küchl, Volkhard Steude, Günter Seifert, Clemens Hellsberg, and Nelly Bonova-Kostner to conclude the first half of the program.

Following the intermission, Daniel Froschauer, Dominik Hellsberg, Gerhard Marschner and Michael Bladerer opened the second half of the concert with Giuseppe Verdi's Overture to "La forza del destino" in an arrangement by Georg Straka. The Hedenborg Quintet then played the 1st Movement from Ernst von Dohnányi's Piano Quintet in C minor, op. 1.  The next piece on the program was particularly moving: Max Reger's "Lyrisches Andante" was performed by Günter Seifert, Harald Krumpöck, Michael Strasser and Eckart Schwarz-Schulz  together with Lukas Straka, who like his father also plays the contrabass. Anita Hartig sang "Morgen", op. 27/4, by Richard Strauss (violin solo: Günter Seifert; Conductor: Wolfgang Gürtler), before Günter Seifert conducted the fourth movement from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Symphony in A-Major, KV 201 to officially end the program. The encore was Franz Schubert's Waltz No. 13 from the 34 "Valses sentimentales", D 779.



© 2018 Wiener Philharmoniker RD0003FF4B68AC