Log in


Log in


My Account

Make use of the advantages of registering at www.wienerphilharmoniker.at: subscribe to various newsletters, participate in the drawing for New Year's Concert tickets and view your online purchases.

Register now

Close window

Menu Calendar

W 1
T 2
F 3
S 4
S 5
M 6
T 7
W 8
T 9
F 10
S 11
S 12
M 13
T 14
W 15
T 16
F 17
S 18
S 19
M 20
T 21
W 22
T 23
F 24
S 25
S 26
M 27
T 28
W 29
T 30
F 31

Home > Orchestra : Orchestra


Das Philharmonische Tagebuch

Wed, 10. June 2015

Prof. Reinhard Öhlberger



Ceremony for the 60th Anniversary of the Signing of the Austrian State Treaty

On May 15, 2015, the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Austrian State Treaty was celebrated at the original site – the Hall of Marble at the Upper Belvedere Palace – with official festivities that included musical compositions.  The event was broadcast live by the ORF. The musical framework for this festive event was provided by the members of the Vienna State Opera Chorus under the direction of Martin Schebesta, with Herbert Lippert (tenor), Thomas Lausmann (piano), and string quintet from the Vienna Philharmonic. Those orchestral members appearing were Daniel Froschauer and Marian Leško (violin), Innokenti Grabko (viola), Raphael Flieder (cello) and Christoph Wimmer (string bass).

The compositions performed included the Divertimento in D major, KV 136, for String Quintet by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, (1st Movement: Allegro). This were followed by pieces of symbolic significance – Florestan's aria from "Fidelio" ("Gott, welch Dunkel hier") by Ludwig van Beethoven, featuring Herbert Lippert and Thomas Lausmann. After this, the chorus from "Idomeneo" ("Godiam la pace") by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was performed by the Vienna State Opera Chorus, featuring as soloists vocalists from other nations who had signed the treaty: Aida Garifulolina (soprano – Soviet Union); Catherine Trottmann (mezzo-soprano – France); Carole Wilson (mezzo-soprano – Great Britain); Herbert Lippert (tenor – Austria); and David Pershall (baritone – USA). This last composition was conducted by Martin Schebesta. Concluding these festivities, the European National Hymn was heard, being performed by the string quintet, the solo ensemble and the chorus.  



© 2020 Wiener Philharmoniker RD00155D58254C

Media Partners of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra