April 27, 2022

Details about the Summer Night Concert 2022

© Julia Wesely

The Vienna Philharmonic is pleased to announce the program of the Summer Night Concert 2022 and provide additional information about this event.

The Summer Night Concert 2022 will take place in the Schönbrunn Palace Park on June 16, 2022, at 08:45 PM. 

Maestro Andris Nelsons will conduct this event for the first time. The soloist on the evening's program will be the French cellist Gautier Capuçon, who will perform Camille Saint-Säens' Concerto for Violoncello No. 1, op. 33.

The program will consist of the following compositions:

Ludwig van Beethoven, Leonore Overture No. 3, op. 72
Mykola Lysenko, Farewell. Waltz in C minor (Arrangement: Olexii Bazhenov)
Arturs Maskats, Tango for Symphonic Orchestra 
Camille Saint-Saëns, Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in A minor, op. 33
Gioachino Rossini, The Thieving Magpie: Overture (La gazza ladra: Overture)
George Enescu, Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A major, op. 11/1
Bedřich Smetana, The Bartered Bride: Overture (Prodaná nevěsta: Overture)
Antonín Dvořák, Slavonic Dance in E minor, op. 72/2

(Program subject to change)

"This year we have chosen a European musical program that emphasizes our common European musical heritage with its diverse facets and rich musical traditions. In consultation with Maestro Nelsons, a composition by the contemporary Latvian composer Arturs Maskats will be performed for the first time, as well as a work of Mykola Lysenko, a prominent individual in the musical history of Ukraine", according to Daniel Froschauer, Chairman of the Vienna Philharmonic.

As always, the Summer Night Concert 2022 can be experienced by all interested viewers, also by way of the television broadcast and livestream.

The ORF will broadcast the concert time-delayed beginning at 09:20 PM in ORF 2.
3sat will broadcast the concert time-delayed on June 16 beginning at 09:45 PM. We kindly request that you check local listings for broadcast information in your home country.

Further information can be found at the website of the Vienna Philharmonic: www.sommernachtskonzert.at